North America's Premier International Resort Community

Nominating Petitions Available for Four Vail Town Council Seats

  • 28 September 2015

Nominating petitions are now available as of  Sept. 14 for candidates interested in running for one of four open seats on the Vail Town Council for the Nov. 3 Regular Municipal Election. The petitions may be picked up in the Vail Town Clerk’s Office from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday in the Vail Municipal Building, 75 S. Frontage Road. Candidates have until 5 p.m. Oct. 2 to circulate and return the nominating petitions. A minimum of 10 valid signatures from registered voters in the town is required in order to appear on the ballot.

The four council seats which become vacant are held by Andy Daly, Ludwig Kurz, Margaret Rogers and Dale Bugby. Bugby and Kurz are eligible to run for re-election. Daly and Rogers are term-limited and cannot run again. The terms of the remaining council members, Jenn Bruno, Dave Chapin and Greg Moffet run to November 2017.

To be eligible to run in the upcoming Vail Town Council election, candidates must:
• Be a citizen of the U.S.
• Be a registered voter within Vail
• Be at least 18 years of age
• Be a Vail resident for two years immediately preceding the election

Town elections are non-partisan. In accordance with the town’s charter, the three candidates receiving the highest number of votes in the regular election will serve four-year terms, while the fourth highest vote-getter will serve a two-year term.

Vail council members receive a salary of $625 per month and the mayor receives a $1,000 monthly salary. The mayor and mayor pro-tem are elected from among the council members and each serves a two-year term.

Voter eligibility and registration information may be accessed through the Colorado Secretary of State’s Office at  For more election information and to request an absentee ballot, contact the Town Clerk’s Office at 970-479-2136 or visit

Contact: Patty McKenny, Town Clerk


Theme picker